Faux Suede

fauxfelt.jpg

The technique for part of this card is called “Faux Suede”,  but I think it also looks like felt. I work at a little boutique and we are getting in all kinds of beautiful Fall items. One of the items that we are carrying right now are felt purses. Of course when I see all of these fun fashion items I immediately list off in my head which SU colors I can use to recreate the look on a card. The purse that inspired me to make this card is (in SU colors) Basic Gray, Purely Pommegranate, River Rock and Bayou Blue. See the “In Colors” really are “IN”. I took a piece of basic gray and really roughed it up by rolling it over the edge of my table. This loosens up the fibers so that you can peel the card stock apart into two layers. When you pull about the cardstock you end up with a fibery (is that a word?) felt or suede look, thus Faux Suede. I did this on both the basic gray and all of the little flowers, which were punch out with the “Three For You” punch. Once I put all the pieces on the card I faux stitched with my white gel pen and piercing tool. I used the little flower type stamp from “Wanted” inked up with Basic Gray and stamped it all over the right side of this card. Then I used the Crop-O-Dile to dry emboss the little cirlces along the side. I then took a few pieces and and  ran them back and forth like you would to make a paper fan and layered them on the side.

That is it! Hope that made sense. It has been a long day. Aly isn’t feeling good and I am pretty sure she has an ear infection. We will be going to the Doctor tomorrow…poor baby. I hate it when she doesn’t feel good.

TTFN

*All products used are by Stampin’ UP!

3 Comments »

  1. Dawn R said

    What a great card! I love the colors and the idea of what you can do to paper. Thanks for sharing this…..how about something like this with the wild wasabi as the base color???

  2. Karie said

    Now see…this is just great! I have a whole pack of gray that I don’t know what to do with, but now I’m stealing this and caseing it. LOL!

    TFS! YOU ROCK!

  3. Dawn E. said

    Great card! I never thought to use the edge of the table to do this technique. I use the criper and roll it through quite a few times(each way) and then pull it apart. Such a nice result isn’t it?!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

