My First Gate Card

flwrgatecrd.jpg

Ok, is anyone else out there going stir crazy since SCS is having issues??? What did I do before Splitcoast? I will admit it… I have a problem, I AM addicted to Splitcoaststampers.com, please  don’t think badly of me…LOL!! ha ha!

Beate had posted a sketch challenge and a gate card tutorial on her blog, so I wanted to give this a try. I used a piece of my  SU sampler pad for the side panels and then Rose Red for the center circle which was layered onto the Whisper White Scalloped piece. Punched of course from my Marvy Giga Punch, love that thing!! The sentiment was then punch out using my word window punch and attached with copper brads. Note, whenever you are punching out pieces that are going to be stamped on, stamp your card stock first then turn your punch upside down so you can see where you are punching . Center your stamped image in the punch window and this will make sure that your stamped image is always in the center of your punched piece.  The flowers down the side are in Whisper White as well and yes, punched with my Spring Flower Bouquet punch.  I stamped the flowers which are from the new preview hostess set “Vases in Vogue” with Versa Mark and then used my Souffle pen to stitch the stems and outline the actual flower. I tried stitching the flower, but they are too small and it just didn’t look right, so I went with a solid line instead. Pretty painless and will surely try this gate card out again. Infact I have another one to show, but that will be tomorrow’s post! 🙂

Busy busy Friday! Al, my DH is having a procedure done for his back pain. Hopefully all will go well with that…keeping my fingers crossed! I have a class at night making 3 cards and in between all of this I need to get my house cleaned and hopefully figure out Father’s Day gifts for Al and my Dad. Why is it that guys are so hard to buy for? I think because if they want something they just go get it.  Well I will try my best to make Father’s Day special…wish me luck! 😉

Have a super weekend!! Check in tomorrow, I will have another gate card for ya to look at.

All products used unless noted otherwise are from Stampin’ UP! 

2 Comments »

  1. LEESA BERRY said

    Love this beautiful card and its colors! Looks shabby chic to me. I am inspired to try the sketch and I have just a piece or two of the this color sampler paper left. Thanks for sharing!

  2. LEESA BERRY said

    P.S. Yes very addicted to SCS myself! I am so lost when it is down and not connecting.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

